The Research mission of the University is to facilitate and promote the pursuit, discovery and dissemination of knowledge through research, creative scholarship and technology transfer that impact our students and our many constituencies within the State of Alabama, the nation and the world.

Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Dr. Carl A. Pinkert

Administrative Assistant to VP for Research and Economic Development
Cheryl Leonard

Office for Sponsored Programs Contract & Grant Accounting
Cost Analysis
Cynthia Hope, Assistant Vice President for Research

Office for Research Compliance
Carpantanto Myles, Director


UA Center for Economic Development

Nisa Miranda, Director

Alabama International Trade Center

Alabama SBDC Network

Brian Davis, Director

Economic Development Academy

Neal Wade

Office for Technology Transfer
Rick Swatloski, Director

Dan Daly, Director

Dave Nikles

Associate Deans for Research

Arts & Sciences
Lisa Lindquist-Dorr

Luoheng Han

Tricia McElroy

Sam Addy

Kim Bissell

Community Health Sciences
John Higginbotham

Continuing Studies
John Sikes - Interim Executive Director

David Hardy

John Wiest

Human & Environmental Sciences
Stuart Usdan

Karl Hamner

Social Work
Karl Hamner



Research Advisory Committee